top of page

Award Winners

The airshow world is a small one, formed of dedicated, skilled hardworking professionals and volunteers from all backgrounds and ages. Without their tireless support, desire to improve and keep airshows alive and in the forefront of the public eye, many events would simply not take place, aircraft would be lost and many millions of people would be left disappointed. It is only right that we as an organisation recognise those who make significant contributions to the industry, which we do annually with 4 awards. 

The Chairman's


Chairmans Award.png

The Chairman's Award is awarded to any Individual, Organisation, group or body, whom the Chairman deems to be the worthy recipient. The Award can be given for any contribution, long term or short term to the Airshow industry in within Europe. It may be awarded for a specific act of goodwill, support or Event. It may also be awarded for an Act of superb airmanship, display or act of gallantry on the ground or in the air.

2006- Tim Prince OBE - Royal International Air Tattoo, UK

2007- Ed De Bruijn -  Royal Netherlands Air Force , Netherlands

2008- Jacques Bothelin - Apache Aviation, France

2009- Riyad Ayyoub - Royal Jordanian Falcons, Jordan

2010- Cdt Ralph Aarts - Royal Netherlands Air Force , The Netherlands

2011- RAF Battle of Britain Memorial Flight , UK

2012- Ian Sheeley - British Air Display Association, UK

2013- Uwe Ramerth - Commentator, Germany

2014- MOD Austria, Austria  & Jean Salis - La Ferte Alais Air Show, France

2015- Sean Maffet - Commentator, UK

2016- Audrey Huelin - RNAS Yeovilton & Culdrose Air Day's, UK

2017- Perttu Karivalo -  Aviator Media Oy, Finland

2018- Lt Col (Retd) Gerri Doblehammer - Austrian Air Force, Austria

2019- Athens Flying Week Team - Greece

2020- Royal Air Force Aerobatics Team - The Red Arrows, UK

2022 - The Frecce Tricolori - italy

2023 - The Royal International Air Tattoo, Fairford, UK

2024 -  Joerg Thurnheer - FOCA - Switzerland 

         -  Belgian Air Force F-16 Demo Team - Belgium


The Paul Bowen Award is given to an Individual or Organisation who have made an outstanding contribution to the Airshow Community. It may be awarded for anything that is deemed by the Board of the EAC as being an Outstanding Contribution and does not have to be a long term contribution. It can therefore include one off actions, events or displays, production of supporting guidance or publications. It is not restricted to performers or organisers. Named after one of the two founding fathers of the Royal International Air Tattoo, ensuring his memory and enduring contribution to Airshows is never forgotten.

2006- AirPower 05 Zeltweg , Austria

2007- Aire6 , Spain

2008- Red Bull Air Races - Red Bull, Austria

2009- Royal Air Force Role Demonstration Team, UK

2010- International Sanicole Airshow, Belgium

2011- Kecskemet Airshow, Hungary

2012- Maj General Des Barker - South African Air Force, South Africa

2013- Mike Higgins & Jersey International Airshow - Jersey, CI

2014- Radom International Airshow, Poland

2015- Aire75, Spain

2016- NATO Days in Ostrava, Czech Republic

2017- Slovak International Air Festival, Slovak Republic

2018- Peggy Walentin - Wing Walker, Germany

2019- The Flying Bulls - Red Bull, Austria

2020- John Cudahy - International Council of Airshows, USA

2023 - Air Power 22 Zeltweg, Austria

2024 - Roskilde Airshow, Denmark


Paul Bowen Trophy


The Jock

Maitland Sword

The Jock Maitland Sword is awarded to the Individual or Group who have made an outstanding contribution to the airshow community over many years.  This may include any individual or group/organisation who over a period of at least 10 years have made a recognisable difference or input into airshows in any capacity. The Sword was presented o the EAC by Biggin Hill Air Fair, following its final show in 2010, keeping the memory of its founder Jock Maitland DFC MBE forever alive in the Airshow Community.

2011- Gilbert Buekenberghs- International Sanicole Airshow, Belgium

2012- Elly Sallingboe - B17 Preservation Sally 'B', UK

2014- Tim Prince - Royal International Air Tattoo, UK

2015- Colonel Ian Logan - Air14 Payerne, Switzerland

2016- Malta Aviation Society - Malta Airshow Team, Malta

2017- Gp Capt Bob Dixon (Retd) - European Airshow Council, UK

2018- Maj Gen Des Barker (Retd) - South African Air Force, SA

2019- Jean-Noel Bouillaguet - France Spectacle Aérien, France

2020- Wolfram Cornelius - ILA Berlin, Germany

2023 - The Royal Jordanian Falcons, Jordan

2024 - Perttu Karivalo - Finland  (Awarded Posthumously)

Ann Award.png

The Ann Vanderhagen

Award for Innovation

The Ann Award is awarded to a group, organisation or individual, who has taken an existing concept and modified it or introduced a new concept for the enjoyment or safety of others within the airshow world. It may also be awarded to for providing opportunities for others to develop their skills and knowledge of airshows and aviation. The first presentation of this award was made in 2017, following the tragic loss of this great lady, who had a real passion for Airshows and Aviation. The award was introduced to keep her memory alive at EAC and organisation she believed in and supported for several years, with her son Gregory and husband Pat.

2017- Royal Air Force Air Cadets and Royal International Air Tattoo, UK

2018- International Sanicole Airshow, Belgium

2019- The Bronco Demo Team, Belgium

2020- Cdt Ivo Kardos & Martin Sonka, Czech Republic

2023 - The Aviation Photo Crew, Belgium

2024 - Helen Webb, United Kingdom

Des Barkr Logo.png

The Des Barker International Safety Award

The Des Barker International Award for Safety is jointly awarded each year by the European Airshow Council and The International Council of Airshows. It is awarded to organastions and Individuals who follow in the footeps of the late Maj Gen Des Barkers pursuit for safety and the reduction of harm.

2022 - Fast Response Operational Safety Team (FROST) - ICAS Awarded

2023 - General Aviation Unit of the UK Civil Aviation Authority - EAC Awarded

bottom of page